Site search
Document search

The Court

Members of the Court
Chambers and Committees
Judges ad hoc
How the Court Works
Financial Assistance to Parties
Annual Reports

The Registry

Organizational Chart of the Registry
Texts governing the Registry
Library of the Court
Judicial Fellowship Programme


List of All Cases
Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders

Basic Documents

Charter of the United Nations
Statute of the Court
Rules of Court
Practice Directions
Other Texts


Contentious Jurisdiction
Advisory Jurisdiction

Press Room

Press releases
Media Services
Frequently Asked Questions

Practical Information

Official holidays
Basic Toolkit
Frequently Asked Questions



Permanent Court of International Justice

Series A: Collection of Judgments (1923-1930)
Series B: Collection of Advisory Opinions (1923-1930)
Series A/B: Collection of Judgments, Orders and Advisory Opinions (from 1931)
Series C: Acts and documents relating to Judgments and Advisory Opinions given by the Court / Pleadings, Oral Arguments and Documents
Series D: Acts and Documents concerning the organization of the Court
Series E: Annual Reports
Series F: General Indexes
Other documents


Declarations recognizing the jurisdiction of the Court as compulsory

The States parties to the Statute of the Court may “at any time declare that they recognize as compulsory ipso facto and without special agreement, in relation to any other State accepting the same obligation, the jurisdiction of the Court” (Art. 36, para. 2, of the Statute).

Each State which has recognized the compulsory jurisdiction of the Court has in principle the right to bring any one or more other States, which have accepted the same obligation, before the Court, by filing an application instituting proceedings with the Court. Conversely, it undertakes to appear before the Court should proceedings be instituted against it by one or more other such States.

The declarations recognizing the jurisdiction of the Court as compulsory take the form of a unilateral act of the State concerned and are deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations.

The texts of declarations made under Article 36, paragraph 2, of the Statute, which, based on the information provided by the depository, had not expired or been withdrawn or replaced on 1 January 2018, can be found below. The inclusion or omission of a declaration is without prejudice to its possible application by the Court in a particular case.

In view of the provisions of Article 36, paragraph 5, of the Statute of the International Court of Justice, the list also includes the texts of declarations made under the Statute of the Permanent Court of International Justice that have not lapsed or been withdrawn. There are now six such declarations.

The declarations, deposited by a total of 73 States, are given here in English. Where this is not the original language of the declaration, the translations used, except where otherwise indicated, are by the Secretariat of the United Nations or of the League of Nations.

The following declarations have been filed with the Secretary-General of the United Nations (the date shown after the name of the State is that on which the declaration was deposited):

Australia 22 March 2002
Austria 19 May 1971
Barbados 1 August 1980
Belgium 17 June 1958
Botswana 16 March 1970
Bulgaria 27 November 2015
Cambodia 19 September 1957
Cameroon 3 March 1994
Canada 10 May 1994
Costa Rica 20 February 1973
Cote d'Ivoire 29 August 2001
Cyprus 3 September 2002
Democratic Republic of the Congo 8 February 1989
Denmark 10 December 1956
Djibouti 2 September 2005
Dominican Republic 30 September 1924
Dominica, Commonwealth of 24 March 2006
Egypt 22 July 1957
Equatorial Guinea 11 August 2017
Estonia 21 October 1991
Finland 25 June 1958
Gambia 22 June 1966
Georgia 20 June 1995
Germany 30 April 2008
Greece 14 January 2015
Guinea-Bissau 7 August 1989
Guinea, Republic of 4 December 1998
Haiti 4 October 1921
Honduras 6 June 1986
Hungary 22 October 1992
India 27 September 2019
Ireland 15 December 2011
Italy 25 November 2014
Japan 6 October 2015
Latvia, Republic of 24 September 2019
Lesotho 6 September 2000
Liberia 20 March 1952
Liechtenstein 29 March 1950
Lithuania 21 September 2012
Luxembourg 15 September 1930
Madagascar 2 July 1992
Malawi 12 December 1966
Malta 2 September 1983
Marshall Islands 24 April 2013
Mauritius 23 September 1968
Mexico 28 October 1947
Netherlands 21 February 2017
New Zealand 22 September 1977
Nicaragua 24 September 1946
Nigeria 30 April 1998
Norway 24 June 1996
Pakistan 29 March 2017
Panama 25 October 1921
Paraguay 25 September 1996
Peru 7 July 2003
Philippines 18 January 1972
Poland 25 March 1996
Portugal 25 February 2005
Romania 23 June 2015
Senegal 2 December 1985
Slovakia 28 May 2004
Somalia 11 April 1963
Spain 29 October 1990
Sudan 2 January 1958
Suriname 31 August 1987
Swaziland 26 May 1969
Sweden 6 April 1957
Switzerland 28 July 1948
Timor-Leste 21 September 2012
Togo 25 October 1979
Uganda 3 October 1963
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 22 February 2017
Uruguay 28 January 1921

© International Court of Justice 2017-2023 – All rights reserved.